Being a DIK: Season 1

By: Null of Undefined
Apr 8th 2020
Tags: steam pc vn college harem indie

Table of Contents


Recent Articles

  • teaser for review
    Wish

    pc vn puzzle fantasy harem strip x-ray

    Oct 18th 2020 | Review

    You are Soma Dakyon. You're a human prince in a world of monsters. The Emperess you serve, Diadora, is a fascist and human supremacist who subjugates all non-humans (knows as 'furries') in the world. On the eve you become a man, you start your war to unite all the races of the kingdom and overthrow Diadora! HELL YEAH BASH THE FASH!


  • teaser for review
    The State of the Hornion Address, October 2020

    state of the hornion

    Oct 5th 2020 | Editorial

    Welcome to the third, and thus far most special State of the Hornion Address! Today is the one year anniversary of horny.moe existing as a site and I'm (nearly) speechless for how far we've come in only one year. I'm beyond thankful for all the support we've received from the horny community.


  • teaser for review
    Welcome to Pussy Paradise

    pc vn steam renpy impregnation watersports x-ray

    Sep 18th 2020 | Review

    Japan is facing record low birth rates and it's up to you, a young man with infinite semen and no refractory period, to help tip the scales. You've been given an all-access pass to Pussy Paradise! A theme park with a single purpose; impregnation of the entire workforce! So come along on this mostly-text based adventure in the reproductive system!


  • teaser for review
    Seek Girl V

    pc indie steam bondage puzzle

    Sep 10th 2020 | Review

    You are... a guy. And you have to solve puzzles to... save? the girls! I'll be honest there really is like 0 story here. There's no dialogue, written or otherwise. You go from level to level, solve a puzzle, and receive sex.


  • teaser for review
    Max Gentlemen Sexy Business

    pc indie steam business management resource-manager vn

    Sep 6th 2020 | Review

    After having all your wealth stolen by your rival, you team up with 12 gentlepersons to buy more money and win the day! Each person on your team is hot, horny, pansexual, and polyamorous. Trim your mustache, practice your fisting at the gym, and beat up smaller, weaker companies, to gain back your stolen honor!


Skip Straight to the Horny Parts


Synopsis

Everything about college, minus learning!

Being a DIK: Season 1 is a college 3d visual novel game developed and published by Dr PinkCake. Season 1 was released on Steam on Feb 13th 2020. It encompases the first 4 chapters of the Being a DIK story, with season 2 currently in development.

being a DIK title card

You are a bright young student who just got accepted into B&R college! You have to navigate classes, pledging a frat, and juggling multiple love interests! But you also have a girl back home to think about. Or do you? You don't really know, but you're doing the best you can!

dicks? or not?

The choises you make in the game will affect your DIK score. If you act like an aggressive dude-bro, your meter shifts towards DIK. If you act like a generally compassionate person, it will move to CHICK. Where you are on that meter will affect the actions you can take. Some sexy scenes require certain ratings to unlock, and your personality will also control who is attracted to you. While I disagree that acting like a decent human is a feminine trait, I think the meter works very well in the context of the game.

how much of a DIK are you?

And that's really the theme for this whole review. With only a few exceptions, Being a DIK captures the toxic bro-culture of fraternities, but keeps it a level or two removed from reality so you can enact the fantasy without feeling too gross while doing it. The primary character that says really dumb shit, Derek, is canonically a big dumb idiot. But this game, like many others can't seem to avoid creating feminist straw-women for jerk characters to harass.

big yikes energy

I was concerned at first because the game opens with a whole "are you easily offended" spiel, which usually means a game is going to be completely disgusting. However while Being a DIK has its fair share of gross out humor and sexualization, the warning right at the front is a great way to give people a warning. Given that warning I thought the content was going to be much darker than it was. I still feel like there's something big bubbling just under the surface.

Being a DIK is a visual novel (made in renpy) so it's mostly a reading experience. The dialogue was over the top, but fit perfectly in the mood of the game. To break up the dialogue, there are several minigames to play. These can give you money and unlock renders. Fighting and Slide puzzles can be done every free-roam, while others are only triggered by story events. Did I say fighting? Yes! There are parts throughout the story where you have to input specific arrow keys to win fights, but you're also a great martial artist, and can fight for fun and profit whenever you want.

fighting mini

You can turn off mini-games at the beginning if you want to focus on the story, but that means there will be sexy scenes you might miss out on. I thought most of the games were pretty fun. I wouldn't play any of them on their own. The exception I have for this is the tennis minigame. There seems to be an element of randomness in there that I didn't like. I would hit the target perfectly but sometimes Jill (the rich girl) would still score on me. (In a bad way).

tennis mini game

And while the drinking mini game is easy, I wouldn't recommend it while being on a bunch of edibles, because it actually became impossible.

drinking mini game


Horny Parts

  • Sexting

    Late in the game you unlock the Swyper app, which lets you sext with various women. If you pick the right response choices you can get sexy images sent to your phone.

sexting screenshot

  • Clothes

    The uniform for this school seems to be "low cut crop top and no bra", and honestly I'm in heaven. The clothes in this game are sexy as hell.

sexy clothes

  • Slide Puzzles

    One of the mini games you can do every free roam is solving a 3x3 slide puzzle. The solved image is usually some sort of sexy render. I got really good at this by the end of the game.

cool...

  • Renders

    By completing certain in-game tasks you can unlock renders on your phone. If you miss one, the game will tell you roughly where it's from. I missed all of the ones from any sort of chapter 'Vault', but to be honest I didn't try very hard. Vaults are unlocked by taking not of numbers throughout a chapter, and entering them in your phone.

rewards catalogue

renders catalogue


Horniest Part

  • Sex Scenes

    This game goes all out with the sex scenes. The animation is limited but it does a great job. The only complaint I have is sometimes it seems like they spent too much time on... textures. It can knock things into the uncanny valley a bit but for the most part it's okay. There are some scenes where you can see actual razor stubble and it made me a little uncomfortable. Once you unlock a sex scene you can see it from the game menu whenever you want.

sex

sex

sex

SEX!


Rating

Positive

While this game takes some stances that I disagree with, it was still a lot of fun to play. Balancing relationships between all the available choices is exciting and requires a fair bit of thought. I'm definitely looking forward to the next chapter and how the story will continue. This is a raunchy disgusting game and I love it.


Additional Thinks of Note

Danzig is your first room mate

danzig!

Sometimes the expressions can get a little weird.

your dad is happy for you

The weirdest thing in this game for me was having a loving and supporting dad who wants you to follow your dreams.

Thank you so much for reading. Please consider following us on Twitter or subscribing to Patreon