Onechanbara Z2: Chaos

By: Null of Undefined
Dec 28th 2019
Tags: pc ps4 gore bmup zombies action

Table of Contents


Recent Articles

  • teaser for review
    Wish

    pc vn puzzle fantasy harem strip x-ray

    Oct 18th 2020 | Review

    You are Soma Dakyon. You're a human prince in a world of monsters. The Emperess you serve, Diadora, is a fascist and human supremacist who subjugates all non-humans (knows as 'furries') in the world. On the eve you become a man, you start your war to unite all the races of the kingdom and overthrow Diadora! HELL YEAH BASH THE FASH!


  • teaser for review
    The State of the Hornion Address, October 2020

    state of the hornion

    Oct 5th 2020 | Editorial

    Welcome to the third, and thus far most special State of the Hornion Address! Today is the one year anniversary of horny.moe existing as a site and I'm (nearly) speechless for how far we've come in only one year. I'm beyond thankful for all the support we've received from the horny community.


  • teaser for review
    Welcome to Pussy Paradise

    pc vn steam renpy impregnation watersports x-ray

    Sep 18th 2020 | Review

    Japan is facing record low birth rates and it's up to you, a young man with infinite semen and no refractory period, to help tip the scales. You've been given an all-access pass to Pussy Paradise! A theme park with a single purpose; impregnation of the entire workforce! So come along on this mostly-text based adventure in the reproductive system!


  • teaser for review
    Seek Girl V

    pc indie steam bondage puzzle

    Sep 10th 2020 | Review

    You are... a guy. And you have to solve puzzles to... save? the girls! I'll be honest there really is like 0 story here. There's no dialogue, written or otherwise. You go from level to level, solve a puzzle, and receive sex.


  • teaser for review
    Max Gentlemen Sexy Business

    pc indie steam business management resource-manager vn

    Sep 6th 2020 | Review

    After having all your wealth stolen by your rival, you team up with 12 gentlepersons to buy more money and win the day! Each person on your team is hot, horny, pansexual, and polyamorous. Trim your mustache, practice your fisting at the gym, and beat up smaller, weaker companies, to gain back your stolen honor!


Skip Straight to the Horny Parts


Announcement:

This is the first game review that has the videos of gameplay being uploaded to patreon! If you subscribe for $3 or more you can see all the gameplay used for this review.

Synopsis

Blood and Bikinis

Onechanbara Z2: Chaos (spelled as OneeChanbara in Japan) is a zombie killing beat em up game released in 2014 in Japan, and later localized for North America and Europe in August 2015. It was developed by Tamsoft and published by Marvelous USA in the US. It's a direct sequel to OneeChanbara Z ~ Kagura ~ With NoNoNo!, which as of yet has not been released outside of Japan. In fact, while there are ~7 games in the series, only three have made it across the Pacific. The first was "OneChanbara: Bikini Samura Squad" for Xbox 360. It's known as "OneeChanbara VorteX ~ Imichi o tsugu mono tachi ~" in Japan. The second is "OneChanbara: Bikini Zombie Slayers" for the Wii, known in Japan as " OneeChanbara Revolution". A new game called "Onechanbara Origins" came out in Japan this year for the PS4, but I'm not holding my breath for a localization.

alt text

The player takes control of four women, two in bikinis and two in schoolgirl uniforms. Though they're from two rival families, they team up to save the world from the undead. Did I mention that one of the pairs of sisters are vampires? The goal is to save the world, while chaining together huge combos.

alt text

The sole gameplay revolves around Devil May Cry style linear maps with plenty of undead to kill. Getting huge combos is a lot of fun but visually it's kind of difficult to keep track of. There's so much going on and all the enemies are so busy that it sometimes feels like you're watching a light show. While that's often the standard of this genre, playing this game made me wish I was playing Bayonetta. The gameplay is similar but Bayonetta has a layer of polish that Onechanbara lacks.

alt text

For the first part of the game you fly around the world to five locations around the world to defeat the undead. All of the characters think it's an obvious attempt to distract them, but they go along with it anyway. There's no variation in the gameplay. You move to a new location, you get locked in until all the monsters are dead, and then you move to the next area. At the end of each level is a boss. It's a bog standard beat-em-up (bmup) format.

alt text

While I love bmups, this one falls victim to damage sponge enemies. I take issues with games that use this tactic because it's not challenging, it's time consuming. One should never be confused for the other. Many of the areas end up having enemies stuck on some scenery somewhere. You can't advance until you find and kill them, which again isn't a huge deal, but it adds up.

You can get through the story on normal mode in about 4 hours. Each time you beat it on one difficulty, you unlock the next harder difficulty. Beating different difficulties will give you different outfits to unlock.

I just pointed out a lot of negatives, but I want to emphasize the that combat itself is fun. I especially liked playing as Saaya, who uses a chainsaw. Her combat feels very good and it's easy to rack up huge combos since most of her attacks hit multiple times.


Horny Parts

The following is a list of Horny components in this game, in order from least horny to most horny

  • Outfits

    The default bikini costumes are great but even just beating the game on medium gives you a slingshot bikini. Canonically the sexiest form of bikini.

alt text

  • Gallery

    As you clear quests (basically achievements) you will unlock gallery images. You can't look at them until you clear the game. There's a lot of concept art so you can get a good look at some of the characters, since the in-game engine is kind of muddy.

alt text

  • Nude Mod

    Nude mods by their nature are often the sexiest part of games, but the texture resolution in this game is kind of a disaster, so the nude mod looks very PS2 era.

alt text

  • Banana Split Costume

    This costume comes with the special edition of the game, or bought as DLC for $1.99 Your character is naked except for some thigh highs, and some conveniently placed fruit. I put this as hornier than the nude mod because the implication of nipples is somehow better than what the nude mod delivers. (No hate to the mod developer, you didn't have much to work with and I thank you for your service. I place the blame solely on the engine.)

alt text


Horniest Part

  • Xtacy/Devil Drive Mode

    When you advance through the game you unlock these transformations for the characters. They get naked and super powerful. Kagura has Big Felicia Energy in this form. It's MAD horny.

alt text

alt text


Rating

Neutral

This game has a lot of negative points, but the combat itself is fun enough to keep me entertained throughout. I likely won't be playing this game again on harder difficulties, but I don't regret the time I put into it. I wish the graphics weren't so muddy and I wish there was more variation in the enemies. There are also severe audio issues while the game is performing disc i/o. I thought it was just my setup but some googling has found that other people have the same issue. If it weren't for my love for bmups and bikinis, I might have rated this game as Negative. I hope this isn't the last Onechanbara game we get in the west, because I really feel like if given another layer of polish, it could make for a great game.

Additional Things of Note

This song that comes on every once in a while fucking slaps